Putnam County

Ottawa, OH - County Seat

 

Court Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:30 - 4:30


Common Pleas / Municipal

Phone: 419-523-3110

 Fax: 419-523-5284

Probate / Juvenile
Phone: 419-523-3012
Fax: 419-523-9291

 

 

245 E. Main St., Suite 301, Ottawa, Ohio 45875  * 

Phone:  419-523-3110  

Fax:  419-523-5284


Ohio Notary Commission


WHAT IS A NOTARY PUBLIC?


            A Notary Public is a public officer appointed under authority of state law to administer oaths, certify affidavits, take acknowledgements, take deposition testimony and record notarial protests.


WHAT QUALIFICATIONS MUST I HAVE TO BECOME A NOTARY PUBLIC?


  • You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • You must be a registered voter in the county which you reside.



WHERE DO I APPLY TO BECOME A NOTARY PUBLIC?


            You must complete a Notary Public application in the Clerk of Courts office you reside.  Putnam County residents should apply at the Clerk of Courts office on the third floor of the Courthouse Monday thru Fridays 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.


WHAT ARE THE STEPS IN THE APPLICATION PROCESS FOR A NEW NOTARY?


  • Obtain a notary packet from the Clerk of Courts office, study the enclosed information and fill out the application form.
  • Report at the Clerk of Courts office at your convenience to take the notary test.


The cost will be $7.00

  • If you pass the test, your application will be signed by the Judge of Common Pleas Court.
  • Your signed application will be mailed to you.



WHAT DO I DO WITH THE SIGNED APPLICATION WHEN I RECEIVE IT?


            You must mail the application to the address given on the form along with $15.00 (check or money order) made payable to: Commission Clerk For The Governor. After your application is processed in Columbus, you will receive your Notary Public Commission document issued to you by the Governor.  Your Commission must be recorded in the Putnam County Clerk of Courts office before notarial acts are performed.  Take your certificate to the Putnam County Clerk of Courts office for recording. 


IS THERE A FEE TO RECORD MY NOTARY COMMISSION?


            Yes, the fee to record your certificate is $7.00 (or $6.00 if you have your signature notarized before you bring in your certificate).  Cash or checks are accepted.  Please make your money order payable to: Putnam County Clerk of Courts. Please note you must record your notary in the county in which you reside.

 

WHEN DOES MY NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSION EXPIRE?


            Your Notary Public commission expires 5 years from the date of issue.  If you are an attorney at law, your commission is good for as long as you remain in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio and continue to reside in the State of Ohio. 


I WOULD LIKE TO RENEW MY NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSION.  IS THE PROCESS THE SAME FOR RENEWAL?


            No, an applicant who wishes to renew his or her notary is not required to take the written test again unless it has been one year since your notary has expired. 

  • Apply for a renewal no sooner than 30 days prior to the expiration.
  • Complete the application and fill in the date of your Notary Public expiration.
  • If your commission has expired prior to your application for renewal, you will be required to complete an extra affidavit on the back of the application and sign it.
  • Your application will be signed by the Judge of the Common Pleas Court and may be picked up at the Clerk’s office or mailed to you at your request.
  • Follow the same steps as for new notary applicants from this point.



 WHERE DO I OBTAIN MY NOTARY PUBLIC SEAL?


            Your Notary Public seal and stamp may be obtained through an office supply store/dealer. 


FOR MORE INFORMATION OR QUESTIONS ABOUT BECOMING A NOTARY PUBLIC CONTACT US……………….


Putnam County Common Pleas Court

419-523-6200

or

Putnam County Clerk of Courts

419-523-3110

245 East Main St.

Putnam County Courthouse

Ottawa, Ohio   45875